Help me, help me. I’m lost in information overload!!! I need Concept Mapping   3 comments


I have visited blogs that tried to deliver too much information in one glance. It can be confusing to experience information overload when trying to gather data of your own.

I have incorporated elements of Concept Mapping into my blog to guide the user. Really I have, and to prove it let’s put it to the test. For the next five minutes you will test my theory. You will decide if my design is a result of Concept Mapping. Ready, set, but wait a minute. What is Concept Mapping anyway? That’s an easy one.

Concept mapping is a pictorial way of constructing, gathering, sharing and organizing information through a graphical tool. It is a strategy that consists of nodes that represent concepts, cross links that are labeled and directional arrows. This type of mapping is an explanation about concepts with nodes, crosslinks and labels. A concept map is structured, simple-to-read and graphically displays a message.

Get the picture? Simple right? Dan Roam commented, “The heart of any system connects to all the main components…” (184). One characteristic of Concept Mapping is that the concepts are represented in a hierarchical fashion. OK. Let’s go with that.

So, in reviewing my blog, context is the first step towards the Focus Question? “Does My Blog Contain Concept Mapping?” Now you can identify and list key concepts:

The next step is to rank the order of the concepts:

Are you ready? You can now construct an initial Concept Mapping of my blog….drum roll please:

All of the concepts are in some way related to one another. The Concept Mapping now has links to concepts and additional concepts have been added. Cross links are described by Joseph D. Novak & Alberto J. Cañas, “These are links between concepts in different segments or domains of knowledge on the map that help to illustrate how these domains are related to one another. Cross-links are key to show that the learner understands the relationships between the sub-domains in the map.”

As you can see I have incorporated one tool into my blog called Concept Mapping. It is depicted in the design by illustrating key aspects that inform the user through highlighting links, labels and crosslinks that are connected and seen by arrows to bring the context into a clearer view making it easier to understand. In my blog the links, categories, images, videos, etc. all connect to one another. In a sense it avoids information overload by its presentation.

Do you see what I see? Concept Mapping!!!

Works cited

Novak, Joseph D., and Alberto J. Cañas. The Theory Underlying Concept Maps and How to Construct and Use Them. 2006. 19 Mar. 2012 <http://cmap.ihmc.us/Publications/ResearchPapers/TheoryCmaps/TheoryUnderlyingConceptMaps.htm&gt;.

Roam, D. (2009). The back of the napkin: Solving problems and selling ideas with pictures. New York: Penguin Group.

3 responses to “Help me, help me. I’m lost in information overload!!! I need Concept Mapping

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi! I liked concept mapping and used some tools until I feel I needed more (typified nodes, show details, etc..), so I decided to build my own Concept Mapping and Diagramming tool: ThinkComposer (has a free edition). If you need improved Concept Maps, I humbly suggest you to try it. Best regards.

  2. Pingback: Information = Knowledge = Sense-Making « I am the eternal student…but I am not alone

Leave a Reply

