My Evaluation of Learning Style Testing   Leave a comment


My feelings on the personality assessment instrument are ones of fascination. I am intrigued as to the connections being made of narrowing down an individual’s learning characteristics to their everyday life including work, family, and school. I found the score useful in my reflecting on what it means for me to continue on the path of becoming a teacher. I was enlightened by my personal learning about my weaknesses and strengths as well as seeing the possibilities as I move forward towards my goal. I even looked into becoming an administrator of the instrument.

We learn by interacting with our environment, communicating, and making sense out of their world, resulting in our learning about ourselves, yet it all begins in our brain. The brain is amazing as one is being tested during active events such as playing games, cards, physical tasks, thinking, working out math problems, analogies, communicate, recall items on list, and foresee ex. life 10 years from now as Nardi (2011) noted, “…the brain activity comes about 300 milliseconds before the person executes the action or behavior associated with the brain activity” (Nardi, 2011, para). It is interesting to note that through this testing it becomes apparent that motivation and interest will light up a brain by how people approach a task, particular neocortex regions “light up” when being used for an activity, dark regions indicate what’s not in use or activity has become automatic, and there are various holistic patterns and zigzag sequences (Nardi, 2011, para.). Hence, various regions do similar tasks for all of us (who are right handed), but people vary greatly in how much stimulus is needed to engage a region.

The video Discover your personality type was a well spent seven minutes. Within that time I listened, visually saw meanings and in turn, learned about my personality type letter by letter and its comparison. It was a step by step logical process in order to understand ones learning. It started with the basics of the Myers Briggs theory of personality and defined it as a way to describe differences in the way people think, make decisions, and approach the world around us while incorporating information about who you are and why you do the things you do (Discover your personality type, para.).

The criticism regarding this instrument is reported by Pittenger (1993), “Several studies, however, show that even when the test-retest interval is short (e.g., 5 weeks), as many as 50 percent of the people will be classified into a different type.” I can only speak for myself, but in taking the Meyers-Briggs instrument through the video I do not believe that my personality ESFP would change for instance in my description of a white cup. I would still view it with the same perspective as it was white and Styrofoam.

In my opinion this information is useful for me as an educator as I begin to teach a subject. This instrument has taught me that I must be authentic as I teach and to always be in search of new ways of capturing a student’s attention and keeping it.
hand_rightReferences

Nardi, D. (2011). Authors@Google: Dario Nardi – Neuroscience of Personality. Retrieved from, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MGfhQTbcqmA

Pittenger, D. J. (1993). Measuring the MBTI .And Coming Up. Journal of Career Planning and Employment, 54(1), 48-52. Retrieved from, http://www.indiana.edu/~jobtalk/Articles/develop/mbti.pdf

(2011). Discover your personality type. Retrieved from, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WQoOqQiVzwQ

Youtube video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MGfhQTbcqmA

Leave a Reply

